"They Call In The Fridge"

William "The Refrigerator" Perry was born on December 16, 1962 in Aiken, South Carolina.  Everything that we want to say about "The Fridge" is said in the video below.  Please watch.


December 16, 2009 | E-mail | Comments (1) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: Birthdays | Tags: , ,

Holiday Shopping Tip #3

We love... the Final Four, Bowl Games, storming the court after a big win, halftime marching bands,  playing for the love of the game and not a paycheck, Dick Vitale and many more things that are a part college sports.   So, to express our love in the best way that we know how, we've started making some NCAA apparel.

Here are images of some of our favorite pieces, but be sure to check out some more schools and styles in the NCAA portion of our website.

Also, what schools should we add to our NCAA roster?

December 15, 2009 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:

Saints and Colts - Perfect Season Potential

Week 14 was our unofficial barometer as to when we can start speculating on whether or not the Saints and Colts might finish the regular season with perfect records.  Now that they both survived this weekend unscathed,  let the talking begin.

We always look at things from a historical perspective around here, so let's learn a little more about the previous five teams that made it to 13 - 0.

  • 1934 Chicago Bears - In 1934 there were only 13 weeks in the season so this team headed into the championship with a perfect record.  Coached by George Halas, and led on the field by Bronko Nagurski, the Bears faced the Eastern Division Champion NY Giants for the Championship.  The game was played at the Polo Grounds on an ice covered field.  At halftime the Giants changed their cleats and the better footing gave them enough of an advantage to give them the victory.  Final score Giants 30 - Bears 13.  No perfect season for the Bears.

  •  1972 Miami Dolphins - The team that all perfect seasons are measured against.  The Don Shula led Dolphins finished the regular season with a perfect 14 - 0 record.  Their closest margin of victory came against the Bills when the Dolphins squeaked out a 24 - 23 win on October 22.  In the Super Bowl the Dolphins faced the Redskins and took the championship with a 14 - 7 win.  The Dolphins finsished the entire season with a record of 17 - 0.  The greatest team of all time?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

  • 1998 Denver Broncos - The Broncos headed into week 15 of the regular season with a 13 - 0 record.  On December 13th, Mike Shanahan and the Broncos faced the NY Giants at Giants Stadium.  The Giants were struggling with a record of 5 - 8, but managed to put together a solid game and defeat the previously unbeaten Broncos 20 - 16.  The losing continued for the Broncos as they dropped another game the next week, this time to the Dolphins, 31 - 21.  The Broncos went into the playoffs with a 14 - 2 record and breezed through the playoffs finsishing off the season with a Super Bowl victory against the Atlanta Falcons.  Final record, 17 - 2

  • 2005 Indianapolis Colts - The Colts faced the same fate as the 1998 Broncos.  They headed into week 15 with a perfect record.  But on December 18 the Chargers put an end to their pursuit of perfection with a 26 - 17 victory.  Like the Broncos, the Colts dropped the next game, 28 - 13 to the Seahawks.  The Colts struggles continued and they lost in the first round of the playoffs to eventual Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers. Final record, 14 - 3.

  • 2007 New England Patriots - This one's recent so you should know that the Patriots finished the season wtih a perfect 16 - 0 record.  Their pursuit of a perfect season was halted by the Giants in the Super Bowl, when David Tyree made "the catch."  Final record, 18 - 1.

So, to really set a new record, the Saints and/or Colts have to win out the regular season and go on to win the Super Bowl.  The 1972 Dolphins are still the only ones who have accomplished that feat.  We can't wait to see how this plays out, how about you?

December 14, 2009 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags: ,

This Monday, It's The Sale You've Been Waiting For

December 11, 2009 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:

Heisman Stats and Facts


With the 75th Annual Heisman Trophy being awarded this weekend we've been discussing the success of Heisman winners in the NFL.  We did a little research and, for your reading pleasure, here's some history on Heisman winners and their success in the NFL.

Heisman Winners who have...

Led the league/conference in scoring:

  • Marcus Allen in 1982 (1981 Heisman winner)
  • O.J. Simpson in 1975 (1968 Heisman winner)
  • Paul Hornung in 1959, 1960 & 1961 (1956 Heisman winner)

Led the league/conference in touchdowns:

  • Barry Sanders in 1990, 1991 & 1997 (1988 Heisman winner)
  • Marcus Allen in 1982, 1984 & 1993
  • Earl Campbell in 1979 & 1980 (1977 Heisman winner)
  • O.J. Simpson in 1975
  • Paul Hornung in 1960

Led the league/conference in rushing:

  • Barry Sanders in 1989, 1990, 1994 & 1996
  • Herschel Walker in 1988 (1982 Heisman winner)
  • Marcus Allen in 1985
  • Tony Dorsett in 1982 (1976 Heisman winner)
  • Earl Campbell in 1978, 1979, 1980 & 1981
  • O.J. Simpson in 1972, 1973, 1975 & 1976)
  • Alan Ameche in 1955 (1954 Heisman winner)

Led the league/conference in passing:

  • Vinny Testaverde in 1998 (1986 Heisman winner)
  • Roger Staubach in 1971, 1973, 1977, 1978 & 1979 (1963 Heisman winner)

Led the league/conference in touchdown passes:

  • Vinny Testaverde in 1996
  • Roger Staubach in 1973, 1977, 1978 & 1979
  • Johnny Lujack in 1949 (1947 Heisman winner)

Led the league/conference in receiving yards:

  • Tim Brown in 1993, 1994, 1995 & 1997 (1987 Heisman winner)

Led the league/conference in punt returns:

  • Desmond Howard in 1996 (1991 Heisman winner)

Won the Super Bowl MVP:

  • Roger Staubach in Super Bowl VI
  • Jim Plunkett in Super Bowl XV (1970 Heisman winner)
  • Marcus Allen in Super Bowl XVIII
  • Desmond Howard in Super Bowl XXXI


So there you have it. You are now an authority on the success of Heisman winners in the NFL.

And your prediction for the 2009 Heisman is??

December 11, 2009 | E-mail | Comments (2) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:

What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results