Pro Bowl facts Part 3


January 29, 1984 is the date of the most lopsided off all Pro Bowl games. Bill Walsh headed the NFC squad as they routed the AFC and coach Chuck Knox 45 - 3 in a game attended by 50,445 people.  It was the NFC's sixth Pro Bowl in seven seasons.  Led by Washington Redskin QB Joe Theisman, the NFC established records for most points scored and fewest points allowed in a Pro Bowl game.  Theisman threw 3 td's, one each to William Andrews, James Lofton and Paul Coffman.  St. Louis Ram linbeacker Nolan Cromwell ran an interception back for a 44 yard td.  Rookie Eric Dickerson capped off the scoring with a 14 yard rushing td.  Overall, an embarassing day for the AFC.


Will you be watching this Sunday?


January 29, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:

Greatest Draft of All Time?

Back on January 29th, 1974, the Pittsburgh Steelers went into the NFL draft coming off a disappointing first round loss in the playoffs to the Oakland Raiders. Despite having one of the highest scoring offenses, and least scored upon defenses in the league, the Steelers only managed to produce 14 points on offense and gave up an astounding 33 points on defense in their divisional matchup with the Raiders. With four draft picks in the first 5 rounds of the ’74 draft, the Steelers would need to add playmakers on both sides of the ball...and that they did.


Already set at the quarterback (Terry Bradshaw) and running back (Franco Harris) positions, the Steelers used their first round pick to draft an All-American wide receiver, Lynn Swann, out of USC. In the second round, the Steelers switched gears from offense to defense and drafted a middle linebacker, Jack Lambert, out of Kent State. With no picks in the 3rd round, the Steelers used their 4th round pick to add depth at wide receiver by drafting John Stallworth out of Alabama A & M University. The teams 5th round pick was Mike Webster, a center out of the University of Wisconsin.


What do these four picks have in common? Well aside from multiple Pro Bowl selections (25 between the four of them), 4 Super Bowl Championship rings each (the first of which came in their rookie season) and having played all, if not most, of their careers as a Pittsburgh Steeler, all four of these players are enshrined in Canton, Ohio in the NFL Hall of Fame.


It’s hard to argue that this wasn’t the greatest draft of all time, but we’ll let you be the judge...







January 29, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags:

Coming Soon...

Continuing the XL Logo Series are the NHL XL Logo Fitteds. Coming soon to Mitchell & Ness!

NHL XL Logo Fitted HatNHL XL Logo Fitted Hat

January 28, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (3) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags: , , , , , , ,

America's Team

Today marks the 50th anniversary of the Dallas Cowboys. Back on January 28th 1960, “America’s team” joined the NFL as an expansion team. Since then, the Cowboys have gone on to win 21 Divisional championships, 10 Conference championships and 5 Super Bowl Championships. The Cowboys also have 8 players/coaches selected into the NFL Hall of Fame.


Aside from being one of the most successful teams in NFL history on the field, the Cowboys are said to be the most successful team off the field as well. With a brand new $1.3 billion stadium and an estimated $269 million in annual revenue, a recent article in Forbes Magazine listed the Cowboys as the wealthiest sports franchise in the United States.


So it begs the question, how bout dem Cowboys.....

Dallas Cowboys 1994 Troy Aikman          Dallas Cowboys XL Logo Fitted Hat



January 28, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags:

This Date In History - Aloha to the Pro Bowl

Here's your Pro Bowl trivia of the day.  This year's game will be the first time in 30 years that the game will not be held in Hawaii.

January 27, 1980 was the first time that the Pro Bowl was played in Aloha Stadium, Honolulu, Hawaii.  The game was won by the NFC, 37 - 27.  Bum Phillips (Oilers) led the AFC squad and John McKay (Buccaneers) coached the NFC to their third consecutvie victory.  New Orleans Saint Chuck Muncie led the way with 2 rushing tds and one passing (a 25-yard option to Tony Hill.)  Muncie was easily the game's MVP.  For the AFC, Earl Campbell led the way with two rushing tds of 2 and 1 yards each.


January 27, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:

What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results