This Day in History: It's Gotta Be That Mustache


On this day in 1981, Rollie Fingers was the winner of the Cy Young Award. In that same year, he also won the American League MVP. During his 18 year professional baseball career, Fingers played for the Oakland Athletics, San Diego Padres, and Milwaukee Brewers. 


Rollie Fingers, along with is famously prominent handlebar mustache, is one of the few MLB players to have his number retired by more than one club. In 1992, Fingers' number 34 was retired by the Milwaukee Brewers. A year later, the Oakland Athletics also retired his number 34. Fingers played for the Oakland Athletics team that accomplished the first modern day 'three-peat,' winning the World Series in three consecutive years in 1972, 1973, and 1974. 

Fingers was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1992, following James Wilhelm to become the second reliever inducted into the Hall of Fame. 



November 3, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: , ,

2011 MLB Postseason

After a roller coaster ride of September baseball, the 2011 MLB Playoff teams are now set.


National League:

(1)   Philadelphia Phillies vs (4) St. Louis Cardinals

(2)   Milwaukee Brewers vs (3) Arizona Diamondbacks


American League:

(1)   New York Yankees vs (3) Detroit Tigers

(2)   Texas Rangers vs (4) Tampa Bay Rays


Keeping in mind that the National League will have home field advantage due to winning the All-Star game, who do you think will win the 2011 World Series Championship?

September 29, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (1) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: Breaking News | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Hall of Famers

With last week’s announcement of the 2011 National Baseball Hall of Fame induction class, we thought it prudent to honor the anniversary of two of Major League Baseball’s greatest alumni. Today marks the anniversary of Hammerin’ Hank Aaron’s and Frank Robinson’s National Baseball Hall of Fame induction. On January 13th, 1982, Aaron and Robinson became the 12th and 13th members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame. It was both players’ first year of eligibility. Aaron was only 9 votes shy of being the first unanimous selection in National Baseball Hall of Fame history.


Aaron was a 25 time All-Star, and the only season Aaron wasn’t an All-Star in his career was his final year in the Majors with the Milwaukee Brewers. He was a career .305 hitter and finished his career with 755 home runs, 3,771 hits and 2,297 runs batted in (a Major League record). He holds the record for most consecutive seasons of having 150 or more hits with seven. He won the National League MVP and the World Series Championship in 1957. His # 44 jersey has been retired by both the Atlanta Braves and the Milwaukee Brewers.


Frank Robinson was a 14 time All-Star. He was a career .294 hitter and finished his career with 586 home runs, 2,943 hits and 1,812 runs batted in. Robinson is only 1 of 14 players to win the Batting Triple Crown (when a player leads the league in batting average, home runs and runs batted in). He won two World Series Championships with the Baltimore Orioles in 1966 (he won the AL MVP and the World Series MVP that same season) and in 1970. His # 20 jersey is retired by both the Cincinnati Reds and Baltimore Orioles. Robinson also became the first full-time African American Manager in Major League Baseball history in 1975 when he took over as manager for the Cleveland Indians.






January 13, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

This Day in History - 1982 World Series


Game 7 of the 1982 World Series was held on October 20, 1982 at Busch Stadium in St. Louis, Missouri. The series matched the St. Louis Cardinals against the Milwaukee Brewers.  The Cardinals won in seven games to become the 1982 World Series Champions. For the Brewers, this was their first World Series appearance twelve years after moving to Milwaukee from Seattle. However, for the St. Louis Cardinals, they were entering their thirteenth Fall Classic.


Game 7 was scoreless until the bottom of the fourth when the Cardinals scored first on a Lonnie Smith RBI single.  Ben Oglivie tied it for the Brewers in the fifth with a solo homer, and they took 3-1 lead in the sixth when Jim Gantner scored on an error and Cecil Cooper hit a sacrifice fly.  Despite their best efforts, Milwaukee lost and the Cardinals went on to become World Series Champions second only to the New York Yankees in all-time wins.  Darrell Porter, St. Louis Cardinals catcher, was given the Series MVP award. 

In the photo below, MVP Darrell Porter leaps into the arms of Cardinals reliever Bruce Sutter after the reliever struck out Gorman Thomas to win the Series. 


October 20, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: , ,

What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results