The Classes of 1990 & 2001

On August 4, 1990 seven football players were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Class of 1990 included the following players.

Ted Hendricks  Bob Griese  Tom Landry

Junious (Buck) Buchanan
Bob Griese
Franco Harris
Ted Hendricks
Jack Lambert
Tom Landry
Bob St. Clair

1975 Franco Harris  1975 Jack Lambert

Eleven years later on the same date the Class of 2001 was inducted and included the following players.

Marv Levy  Jackie Slater  Lynn Swann

Nick Buoniconti
Marv Levy
Mike Munchak
Jackie Slater
Lynn Swann
Ron Yary
Jack Youngblood


August 4, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (1) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: ,

This Date in History - John Hannah Joins the Hall



 On July 27, 1991 John Hannah was welcomed into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  Hannah had an amazing career after being selected in the first round of the 1973 draft by the New England Patriots, where he remained for his entire13-season career.


From Alabama, the 225-pound left guard made an impact right out of the gate and started the first 13 games of his rookie season before being sidelined by a leg injury. In the next 12 years, Hannah became widely recognized as the premier guard of professional football. He was named All-Pro 10 straight years from 1976 through 1985. He won the NFL Players Association's Offensive Lineman of the Year award four straight years from 1978 through 1981. Hannah was named to nine Pro Bowls.



Despite the physical abuse his body took as the key component of the Patriots’ offensive line, Hannah only missed five out of 191 games in 13 years due to injury.  During his tenure, New England had seven winning seasons and a 100-91-0 cumulative record.



July 27, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: , ,

Class of 2010

Congratualtions to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010! Learn a little bit more about the Class of 2010 inductees from the Pro Football Hall of Fame:

  • Russ Grimm was a steadying force of the Washington Redskins’ offensive line known as “The Hogs.” The standout guard earned All-NFL acclaim and Pro Bowl trips four consecutive seasons.
  • Rickey Jackson helped turn the Saints from perennial losers to a playoff contender and becomes the first long-time player from the team to be elected to the Hall of Fame. He was named first-team All-NFL four times in his career.
  • Dick LeBeau, was originally drafted by the Cleveland Browns but cut, joined the Lions shortly thereafter. He went on to enjoy a 14-year career that saw him intercept 62 passes. That total currently ranks third all-time among cornerbacks.
  • Floyd Little, the first 1,000-yard rusher in Denver Broncos history, was a versatile star who amassed more than 12,000 all-purpose yards on rushing, receiving, punt returns, and kickoff returns during his nine-season career.
  • John Randle, a seven-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro pick, amassed 137.5 sacks during his career with the Minnesota Vikings and Seattle Seahawks. A member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1990s, he played in 219 career games.
  • Jerry Rice played an amazing 20 seasons and owns virtually every major receiving record. In all, he caught 1,549 passes for 22,895 yards and scored a total of 208 touchdowns.
  • Emmitt Smith is the NFL’s all-time leading rusher with 18,355 yards and scored a record 164 rushing touchdowns. He won four NFL rushing titles and gained 1,000 yards in a record 11 straight seasons.

San Francisco 49ers 1996 Jerry RiceSan Francisco 49ers 1996 Jerry RiceSan Francisco 49ers 1994 Jerry Rice

Dallas Cowboys 1994 Emmitt SmithDallas Cowboys 1992 Emmitt Smith

February 9, 2010 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: Breaking News | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results