2011's First No-Hitter

Last night in Chicago, Twin's left-hander, Francisco Liriano threw the first no-hitter of 2011 at US Cellular Field against the White Sox.  In an unlikely two-strikeout and six-walk outing, Liriano’s no-no became the seventh in Twins’ franchise history and the 13th thrown against the Chicago White Sox.
Congratulations to Francisco for an amazing accomplishment!


 Here are some fun facts about no-hitters throughout baseball history:

   268 no-hitters have been thrown in MLB history
   20 have been perfect-game no-hitters
   August 16, 1893: 1st no-hitter at modern pitching distance (60’) thrown by Baltimore Orioles’ Bill Hawke
   April 16, 1940: Bob Feller has the 1st and only no-hitter thrown on opening day
   Don Larsen (1956) and Roy Halladay (2010) are the only pitchers to throw post-season no-hitters
   Roy Halladay is the only pitcher to throw a regular-season no-hitter and a post-season no-hitter in the same season






May 4, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: Breaking News | Tags: ,


Add comment


What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results