Heat History

The Heat advanced to the Eastern Conference Finals last night with a win over the Celtics.  So, let's learn a little about the squad from South Beach.

  • In the 1988 Expansion Draft the Heat selected Arvid Kramer from the Dallas Mavericks.  Kramer, 31, never played in a game for the Heat.


  • In the 1988 NBA Draft, with the 9th overall pick, the Heat selected Rony Seiklay from Syracuse.  With the 20th pick they chose Kevin Edwards from DePaul.



  • In 1992 the Heat became the first of the four expansion teams (Hornets, Timberwolves and Magic were the other three) to make the NBA Playoffs.  Unfortunately, they faced the Michael Jordan led Bulls in the first round and were swept 3 games to none. 
  • The 2005 - 06 NBA season brought the Heat their first NBA Championship.  In the first round they topped the Bulls 4 games to 2.  They faced the Nets in round two and took care of business quickly with a four game sweep.  The Pistons were the opponents in the Eastern Conference Finals. Coach Pat Riley led his Heat squad to their first Championship Series as they beat Larry Brown and the team from Motown 4 - 2. In the Finals they faced the Western Conference Champion Dallas Mavericks.  The Mavericks took the first two games at home but the Heat came back strong at home winning all three games.  The sixth game was back in Dallas but the Mavs couldn't stop Dwayne Wade and his 36 points and 10 rebounds as the Heat won their first title in Dallas.


  • Not including the current season, the Heat have had four players on the All Rookie Team: Sherman Douglas (89 - 90), Steve Smith (91 - 92), Caron Butler (02 - 03) and Dwayne Wade (03 - 04).
  • In his 11 seasons in Miami, Alonzo Mourning was twice named the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year - 1998 - 99 & 1999 - 00.


  • Pat Riley was not named Coach of the Year in the 2006 Championship season, Avery Johnson was.  Riley did receive the award while coaching the Heat in the 1996 - 97 season.


  • The first Heat field goal was scored by Rory Sparrow on November 8 against the Clippers.
  • The Heat got their first win on December 14, 1988 in a game against the Clippers, 89 - 88.
  • The starting line up for the first Miami Heat game was: Rory Sparrow, Kevin Edwards, Rony Seikaly, Pat Cummings and Billy Thompson.  The team finished with a 15 - 67 record in that inaugural 1988 - 89 season.


Now back to today.  Will the Heat make it back to the NBA Finals this year?  Will they face the Bulls or the Hawks in the next round?  And then, if they make it to the Finals, will we see a re-match of the 2006 Series against the Mavericks?  So many questions still to be answered. 

Tell us what you think happens next for the Heat.

May 12, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category:  | Tags:


Add comment


What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results