The Devils are born

With the start of free agency only one day away, we wanted to talk a little hockey today. 29 years ago today, the New Jersey Devils officially became the New Jersey Devils.

Now one of the league’s most stable franchises, the Devils didn’t actually start in New Jersey. The Devils franchise was originally the Kansas City Scouts, an expansion team from 1974. After two years of instability in Kansas City, the franchise moved to Denver and became the Colorado Rockies. Six seasons and only one playoff berth later, the Rockies moved to New Jersey and haven’t looked back.

The team name is based on the legend of the Jersey Devil, a creature that is said to inhabit the Pine Barrens of New Jersey. The name was voted on by the public and 10,000 votes later, the New Jersey Devils were born. The team name runner-ups were the Blades, Meadlanders and Americans. While the franchise struggled a bit last season with a 38-39-5 record, the Devils didn’t have a losing season for a twenty year span from 1990 to 2010. During that same span, the Devils won 3 Stanley Cups, 4 Eastern Conference Championships and 9 Atlantic Division Championships.


June 30, 2011 | E-mail | Comments (0) | Comment RSSRSS comment feed

Category: This Day in History | Tags: , , ,


Add comment


What Do You Think?

No poll

Show Results